Join A Slice of Orange

Enter your email address and never miss another post on A Slice of Orange.

Subscribe to our Monthly Newsletter

Archives

Calender

October 2017
M T W T F S S
« Sep    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Meeting Reminder – Getting it Right: Fight Scenes & Don’t Blame the Gun, Blame the Writer

June 3, 2012 by in category Blogs tagged as , , , with 0 and 0
Home > Writing > Blogs > Meeting Reminder – Getting it Right: Fight Scenes & Don’t Blame the Gun, Blame the Writer

Getting it Right: Fight Scenes & Don’t Blame the Gun, Blame the Writer
OCC/RWA Chapter Meeting: Saturday, June 9, 2012
Doors open @ 9 a.m.
Ask-an-Author:
Susan Squires

Author First Chapter Critique: 
Lex Valentine
MORNING SESSION:
DEBRA HOLLAND

“
CREATING REALISTIC FIGHTING OR SELF-DEFENSE SCENES”
Debra Holland, Ph.D., psychotherapist and second degree black belt in Goju Shin Ryu karate, will take you through different types of physical fight scenes. Participants will learn some basic self-defense skills through more advanced techniques, including knife fighting.
Debra will bring equipment and some other male black belts from her dojo, American Martial Arts Academy in Fullerton. If time permits, some authors will have a chance to choreograph their scenes, using the Debra and her assistant black belts as the bad guys.
AFTERNOON SESSION:
DENNIS KEE

“DON’T BLAME THE GUN, BLAME THE WRITER”
Learn how to do it right, and write about weapons correctly. A quick overview/study of common gun misconceptions.
Retired Air Force and former weapons instructor for the military, and current board member for Friends of the NRA LA Chapter. Kee also is a member of the FBI’s LA Office InfraGard Program and steering committee member for the State of California’s Regional Southern California High Tech Task Force. He also serves as a board member for the Los Angeles Chapters Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers.

Online Class:
June 11-July 9, 2012:
“Some Like it Hotter: Writing the Erotic Romance”
with
LYNDI LAMONT
Join Lyndi Lamont for tips on writing erotica and erotic romance, including writing for readers of BDSM and GLBT stories, and what markets are open to submissions.
Lyndi sold her first romance novel in 1997 to Kensington Precious Gems. Since then she has written historical and Regency romance for Amber Quill Press. In 2004, she wrote Painting Penelope, her first erotic story for Amber Heat. Since then she has written another seventeen erotic romance stories and novellas, including male/male erotica, for Amber Heat and Amber Allure.

For more information, or to register, visit http://www.occrwa.org/onlineclassJune12.html 
Meeting information can be found at www.occrwa.org
Hope to see you on the 9th!

Copyright ©2017 A Slice of Orange. All Rights Reserved. ~PROUDLY POWERED BY WORDPRESS ~ CREATED BY ISHYOBOY.COM

%d bloggers like this: